A Rant (that still relates to Change…)

I’m still working on change. Are you?

One change I am trying to make is to post more reels on Instagram. Do you use Instagram? It’s like a mini vacation when I open the app and watch reels. I can lose half an hour, an hour—depends on the time of day and how much free time I have. I love it. There are all sorts of fun, short movies to watch: crochet techniques, exercise tips (and the best ones are mine, of course), folks dancing, teaching dance steps, babies doing all sorts of funny baby things like tasting lemons for the first time or doing laundry and cussing like little sailors. There are tips on how to use food scraps I might normally discard and instead use them to fertilize my house plants or maybe even wind up with some homemade garlic powder, onion powder or dried orange zest. There are ads, too, but I tend to scroll right past them.

Making a video to post on Instagram is fun. It is also time consuming, especially without a script, camera operator, and minimal digital editing skills. I have received lots of advice. “Make it funny!” “Keep it short!” “Just grab this little bar at the bottom with your finger and drag it over to where you want your video to start. Do the same on the back end.” Yeah right. It’s not that easy, at least not for me. I can be a goofball and talk wrong 🙄, I can talk too much 🤪(what a surprise!), I can accidentally stomp my foot in the middle of a sentence and then I have to start all over again😤. Then edit🧐. Then post it🤩. And the goal is to post something related to For Every Body, Inc., so not so many nature pictures (my fave!), and more fitness tips, etc.

And what do I get when I add a reel, a story or a post? I get likes. Maybe. And comments. Maybe. And views. Maybe. And what comes of any or all of that? Well, I am building a following. People follow our nonprofit and maybe they will join our community of folks interested in working on their fitness and nutrition.

After several weeks of making reels and posting them, I’m beginning to think that Instagram is a lot like money. There is value, but what kind of value? After all, these days money is just paper and metal with numbers attached. Sometimes, I never even see the money I make. It shows up on my banking app, then I “transfer” it to pay bills and buy things. It feels unreal. Yet somehow it is real.

On Instagram, I’m getting likes, I’m getting followers, yet there is nothing concrete. How can the number of followers on Instagram define me or my nonprofit? And yet here I am, writing about it, posting about it, thinking about what I will do for my next reel. Unreal? Yes. Also real. I love it and also I don’t love it. Still gonna make reels, edit them, post them and hope/wish/manifest those likes, comments and followers. Would you like to help me make my goal of building followers on Instagram? Click on that link I put in at the beginning, go to our Instagram page and like, comment, SHARE (that’s the weird little arrow) and follow so For Every Body, Inc. can grow into what my partners and I dream about—a truly tremendous resource for adults over 50 for wellness. 

Do you use Instagram? Tell me about your experience. I’ll be back soon with another post. Wait, is this blog just like Instagram? 😂 Who knows? If you do, clue me in. Thanks for letting me rant about IG while I work on changing my attitude.

With love and wishing you wellness,

Elizabeth

P.S. If you don’t have the app, here is a video I made last week with my BFF. We were lying on the living room floor trying to look lazy-ish…

Explore posts in the same categories: 2024, Journey of Change, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment