Humble Return

This summer has been filled with milestones:  my daughter learned to drive. (!!!)  My mom turned 80.  (!!!)  My husband celebrated his 10 year anniversary at Berklee College of Music.  I ran 16 miles. I logged at least 40 miles each week running, and continued with boxing, kickboxing, and cycling.  I completed the P90X series.  Looking at this, I can see how focused I am on my fitness milestones and how important they are as I grow older.  48 doesn’t seem so old now that I am comfortably nestled into the number.

My husband and I cleaned our rental house faithfully and well after each guest checked out.  A short-term gardening assistant and I whipped the entire garden into shape (before he quit and I lost my gardening mojo, that goodness).  The days flew by, and I struggled to find the time to read the first book for my winter book group.  And, I struggled to write.

In between the busyness I had some downtime.  I  weighed the cost of  writing about running, fitness, nutrition and cooking.  People judge and I take it personally.   People make assumptions about me because so many stories focus on running, even though this blog is about running!  Sometimes I doubt who I am.  Yet here I sit at my computer, ready to start again, to share my experiences, ideas, and thoughts with whomever is out there searching for real answers or just entertainment and the occasional recipe.  For every time I have felt uncomfortable with judgements, assumptions, or comments, I realize there have been at least as many positive comments.  My friend Sarah wandered by one day and asked where I’ve been, that she missed my great recipes.  I realized that it doesn’t matter what anyone thinks or says, either way, although the positive comments sure feel good!

Elizabeth Runs feels like a long-lost friend. I decide I will write.  I will continue to put my feelings and experiences out into cyberspace, holding onto the hope that someone, somewhere, might be able to make a change in their life by feeling an internal shift after reading even one phrase or story that hits home for them.  And, selfishly, I will continue because when I look back at the stories, fitness rules and recipes I have written, I am able to trace my path more clearly, and continue to make choices that support both my short-term and long-term goals.  I have a few new writing goals, including shorter pieces and the addition of more recipes.  Oh—and some real honesty about living a vegan lifestyle in a world where not eating animals sometimes makes me feel like a freak.  We shall see how that goes…

For now, best moment of my running summer:  On the 16 mile run, my husband couldn’t find me for our second water stop.  He found me at the half-way mark and brought water and a LARABAR, but somehow did not connect again.  I really, really needed some water!  I could taste the strange iron flavor of blood on my lips.  I stopped by a friend’s house and knocked on the door.  I could hear Lynn in the living room.  She had company.  I kept knocking.

“Hey!  It’s Elizabeth Runs!”  (Yup, that’s what they call me.  :D)  “Come on in!”

“Oh, no, thanks, I can’t.  I stink.  I mean I REALLY stink.   But would you mind giving me a glass of water?”

Lynn brings me a tall clear, cold glass of water.  I take the glass and sip and sip and sip until it is empty.  I hand it back, almost in tears because I feel so much better.  I sense the energy return to my legs, the water coats my parched throat and soothes my cracked lips.

“Thank you.  Thank you so much!”

“Any time.  You know you can stop here any time.  Just come in and help yourself.”

I trot down the gravel driveway.  Such kindness!  I am filled with  gratitude and now really do start to cry.  I swallow and smile, my heart beat and legs  pick back up for the last few miles home.  Elizabeth Runs.

Explore posts in the same categories: Run notes that run into life

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Humble Return”

  1. michelle Says:

    I am so happy you are back! I have totally missed your posts. You have such a gift with words that really needs to be shared. As far as the negativity that goes on, you need to read one of my posts for today it really says it all. I personally really look forward to the vegan recipes, I think it is very important to show the amazing food that can be made. Just keep on doing what you love!!

  2. kendi Says:

    I love and miss you all dearly!!! WTIME (with tears in my eyes)

  3. Charlene Says:

    People often seem to think that women, especially mothers, who take care of themselves are somehow spoiled. It’s really sad. We’d all be better off if everyone took care of themselves! And our kids will really appreciate it when we’re old!

  4. Pat Earle Says:

    Thank goodness you’re back to writing..Missed your voice…Happy you’re happy

  5. Sharon Says:

    So glad to see you blogging again! You have such a wonderful gift in writing and telling stories. Keep up your fitness goals. Happy cooking!

  6. Elizabeth Says:

    Glad you are back–I’ve missed your writing! XOX


  7. Thank you for being such a faithful reader! Miss you and hope you are doing well. xo


  8. Thank you for reading! I love that we have reconnected—let me know when you are ready to run together!


  9. Thank you for still reading! Looking forward to seeing you on Sunday. Bring on the fair! Love to you, my friend.


Leave a Reply

