Cookie Monster

Cookies are my downfall.  I love a crispy, chewy, chocolaty cookie with my tea.  Or with my coffee.  After lunch and after dinner.  I have not made many cookies since we have become vegan, mostly because my very best cookie recipe, the one from my mom that I have bastardized over and over with great success, is not vegan and I have been a little anxious about changing the recipe once more and having an  outcome that disappoints.  Plus, I really have some issues with cookies.  I never eat one or two.  I eat six or seven and still want more.

People who love me tell me I shouldn’t worry about being a cookie monster.  They tell me I can use the calories.  I’m not really worried about calories.  I’m worried about eating too many cookies!   But, it is winter, after all.  Baking heats up my kitchen nicely, the rich scent of melting chocolate fills my house, and my family seems happier when they are stuffing their mouths with cookies still warm from the oven.

Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s cookbook The Vegan Table has an easy little recipe for Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies, tucked in between Cauliflower with Spicy Vinaigrette and Tofu “No Eggs” Benedict.  I made these cookies exactly as the recipe instructs the first time.  I ate about 10 of them right away.  I did use a mini ice cream scoop to form the balls, and got about three dozen cookies.  The second time (next day!) I subbed 1/4 cup cocoa nibs for 1/4 cup of the chocolate chips and added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, yielding 40 cookies.  The third time I made them (next day!!) I immediately took half of the cooled cookies and placed them in a freezer bag to take to my mom, the best judge of a good cookie.

She seemed doubtful on the phone, but when she opened her bag of cookies and ate one, she called me right away.

“Good cookie!  I gave one to your father, too.   Then I ate another one when I walked down the hall.  Good cookie!”

Today I am making a double batch.  One for me, one for my family…


Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies (from The Vegan Table by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau)

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp. ground flaxseed whisked together with 3 Tbsp. water until thick and creamy (substitutes for 1 egg)

3/4 c Earth Balance or other vegan margarine

1 c sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/4 c whole wheat pastry flour

1/3 c unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 tsp. each baking powder and baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 c vegan chocolate chips, (Ghiradelli’s semi-sweet are vegan)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350° F.

Using an electric mixer or food processor, cream vegan margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add flaxseed mixture and vanilla and mix until incorporated.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Use a whisk to mix dry ingredients together well.

Add the dry to the wet and mix well.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Form dough into balls and flatten slightly on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 7 minutes.  Allow to cool slightly before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

The cookbook claims the yield to be 12 cookies, or 6 servings. I honestly got 3 dozen cookies from a single batch, and when I added the cocoa nibs and walnuts, eked out 40.   The size of the ball my small ice cream scoop makes is about the size of a large walnut.

The addition of cocoa nibs and walnuts gives these perfect cookies extra texture and crunch.  Either way, they are wonderful!

Explore posts in the same categories: Food and Recipes

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Cookie Monster”

  1. Craig Says:

    No wonder nobody knows about this recipe! Look what she stuck it between in her book.

    Beautiful photo. Yay for you, shooting that and putting it in your blog all on your own. Nice work.

    Those cookies are soooo addictive. I’m glad your folks liked them, too. The house smells like a cookie factory, (the good kind), when you are working on those. Thanks for saving one batch for the rest of us.

  2. Alex Says:

    YUM! Some of the best cookies yet. I second dad in that they are addictive haha


Leave a Reply

