Cupcake Mama

On Sunday, before my parents’ combined birthday party, I ran 14 miles in exactly two hours.  I felt pretty good afterward, good enough to finish assembling the birthday cake I made for them, and to pack homemade cold chili oil-infused Soba noodles* and a big salad to take to the party.  On Monday, I logged an easy six miles.  By the time I was showered, I knew we would not make our friends’ harvest party.  I could barely stand up.  I took my exhausted self to the beach with my hubby.  I packed a big veggie picnic, with hummus, pita bread, and perfect peaches.  We set up our chairs on the lovely shore of Cape Hedge and I immediately fell asleep.  I woke up after 2:00— just long enough to eat— then slept the rest of the afternoon.

Monday night, my daughter crept into the living room where I was kind of dozing and watching a movie and asked if we had anything sweet she could take to school for the kick-off meeting for the environmental club.  She’s co-president this year, and wanted to start of with something special.  The answer, of course, was no.  We did not have anything sweet prepared.  I told her I’d make something and bring it in at the end of her school day.  I abhor the pressure of late night baking requests.  I know she didn’t really ask me to bake, but the implication was certainly there.  She knows me well.  She knows that’s how asking will be interpreted.  I’ve been called Spicy Muffin Mama by a couple of people, but my daughter knows I’m secretly Cupcake Mama.  There’s always sourdough cake starter in my kitchen.

This morning I jumped out of bed at 6:08 and made a beeline for the kitchen.  No coffee in bed for me today!

I have veganized my sourdough starter for Friendship Bread.  I use almond or soy milk instead of cow’s milk, silken tofu (1/4 cup = 1 egg) in place of the eggs,  and use vegan chocolate chips.  The cake has great texture— just as good if not better than the old way.  So I made a batch of vegan chocolate chip cupcakes before my seven mile run.  I actually was able to get the cupcakes in the oven before I dropped off my daughter at school, and was home in time to take them out of the oven before the timer went off.

Bald cupcakes are popular in our house.  Really they’re just muffins, even if they have chocolate chips in them sometimes.  My daughter didn’t care if they were frosted, but I felt like a slacker when I looked at those bare-naked little cakes lined up on my vintage wire cooling racks on the kitchen counter.  I decided that after I trained my one client of the day, I would make buttercream frosting.   The Vegan Table, written by  Colleen Patrick-Goudreau, has a recipe for buttercream frosting that takes me back to my childhood.  My mom always bought my birthday cakes from a bakery in Weymouth called Whitey’s.  The cake was fine, but the frosting?  Sweet, creamy, a tiny bit crunchy on the edges, with a hint of vanilla.  I waited all year long for that frosting.  I have never been able to duplicate it until I found this recipe.  My friend Michelle told me about this cookbook, and I finally bought it. And discovered the frosting recipe.  If I never use this cookbook again it’s still worth every penny I paid for it, because now I can make my own birthday cake and have it taste just as I remember it when I was a child.  (Good thing I racked up all those miles this week…)

I spread white frosting over 24 cupcakes, then made a 1/2 batch, colored it green with two spoonfuls of Thai Basil syrup (thanks, Elizabeth W. for sharing!), and piped decorative edging and little green flower centers on the cupcakes.  I packed them carefully in containers and showed up at the high school just as the final bell rang.  I really am Cupcake Mama today.

A few cupcakes made it back home late this afternoon.  I gave one away to Robin the Mermaid, ate one myself, and stashed a couple in the refrigerator for my hubby, who deserves a treat after eating old-fashioned lentil loaf* for dinner!  Now that’s a recipe I might tweak if I make it again.

*Both of these recipes come from The Vegan Table as well.  The noodles are phenomenal— everyone always wants the recipe.  I add extra vegetables, usually broccoli and more bell peppers.  The lentil loaf— well, as I said, it needs a little tweaking for our family’s taste.  Maybe some BBQ sauce?

Explore posts in the same categories: Food and Recipes, Run notes that run into life

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Cupcake Mama”

  1. Julie Says:

    Yum, love your posts. I miss you. Driving home tomorrow.

  2. Craig Says:

    Love the links! Thanks, that vegan chocolate page was VERY helpful. Plus, it’s amazing what a little Thai Basil Syrup will do for cake frosting. Mmmmmmm.

  3. weight Says:

    yeah my dad will like this


Leave a Reply

