Intense and Flavorful

Heavy rains motivate me to stay indoors and try a new workout this morning.  This month’s issue of Health Magazine features a P90-X high-intensity jumping workout, promising to torch 350 calories in just 25 minutes.  There are five jumps, each with 15-25 reps, in one sequence.  The pretty young model demonstrating the moves makes it look manageable and it seems like a nice change from the bike and videos.

I don’t know about the calorie burn, but this workout is intense!  By the time I reach the second sequence, my heart is pounding and my shorts and tank are drenched with sweat.  After finishing the second set, I recharge with a chia fresca.  I decide to add double drop sets and some core work to the end of my workout.  That way, if the rest of the week turns out to be perfect for running, I won’t feel guilty about getting enough cross-training!

The rain continues.  It’s chilly and damp here on Cape Ann— a good day for soup.  My daughter and I love traditional Portuguese kale soup, but not the chorizo sausage that goes into it.  I made up my own version, substituting Indian seasonings for the meat to liven it up a bit.  My husband has not seemed to notice the absence of the chorizo; he only flatters me by telling me how delicious this soup tastes.  It’s not spicy, just very flavorful, and loaded with nutrients and protein.  It’s also gluten-free.   Curry and turmeric have natural anti-inflammatory properties, so my muscles and joints (and yours!) will be thankful for a big bowl of this yummy treat!

Vegan Curried Kale Soup

Ingredients:

3 Tbsp. olive oil

1 sweet onion, chopped

6 carrots, chopped

2 Tbsp. curry powder (Madras curry powder is perfect for this)

2 Tbsp. fresh ginger, minced

1 tsp. mustard seeds

1 Tbsp. ground turmeric

¼ tsp. cayenne pepper, or more to taste

6 c vegetable broth

1 bag green split peas, rinsed

1 bunch fresh kale, washed and chopped fine

2-3 red potatoes, scrubbed and chopped into bite-sized pieces

water

Method:

In soup pot, combine oil, onion and carrots.  Saute over medium heat until the vegetables begin to simmer and soften.  Add curry powder, ginger, mustard seeds, turmeric, and continue to cook about 2 more minutes, until ginger becomes fragrant.  Add the broth.  Turn heat to high and bring to a boil.  Add the peas, return to boil, lower heat, and simmer until peas are soft, about 45 minutes.

Add potatoes and kale, stirring well until kale is incorporated into soup.  Cook 10-15 minutes more, until kale is tender.

Add water, ¼ cup at a time until desired consistency is reached.  Soup should be thick.

Serves 6-8.

As a dinner, serve with hearty multi-grain bread, and a side salad if you wish.

Explore posts in the same categories: Food and Recipes, Training

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Intense and Flavorful”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I’m a big fan of kale so I’m happy to have a new recipe for it – sounds delicious!


Leave a Reply

