Keeping up with the Burn (Nuts!)

Running burns approximately 100 calories per mile, based on a 150 pound runner.  I weigh less than that, and figure I burn around 90 calories per mile.  On a day I run 10 miles, that’s 900 calories.  Some days I have a hard time putting those calories back— especially because on the days I run long, I’m not that hungry.

I like what goes into my body to have solid nutritional value.  I’m a believer in eating whole foods, and preparing most of what my family and I eat from scratch.  So many prepared foods have weird ingredients I don’t recognize!  I tend to choose vegetables and fruits most often, and I like nuts, avocados, and extra-dark chocolate for extra calories.  Last night, after eating a yummy stir-fry with tofu and pan-seared noodles, I wound up eating 1/2 cup of peanuts and 2 ounces of chocolate just to break even for the day.  This is not complaining, really, but it’s challenging to get those extra calories in me.  That’s a lot of nuts!

Asian-inspired Stir Fry

Ingredients:

6-8 cups washed vegetables, chopped into bite-sized pieces  (I used onion, celery, carrots, broccoli, cabbage, mushrooms, and scallions)

2 tbsp. safflower oil, divided

4 cloves garlic, minced

3 tbsp. each low sodium tamari and rice vinegar

1 tbsp. minced fresh ginger

1 tsp. toasted sesame oil

1 block extra-firm tofu, drained and cut into bite-sized cubes

1/2 cup washed, chopped fresh cilantro

1/2 cup chopped peanuts

juice of 2-3 limes

2 cups whole grain long noodles, cooked according to package directions, rinsed in cold water, and drained

Method:

For the vegetables: Heat a large wok or skillet over high heat.  Add 1 tbsp. of the safflower oil and swirl it around to coat the pan.  Add the chopped vegetables and toss quickly.  Cook for about 3 minutes.  Add garlic, tamari, rice vinegar and sesame oil.  Toss again.  Cook for another minute.  Add the tofu, ginger, and scallions.  Toss again and cook until tofu is warm, about 2 minutes.  Set aside.

For the noodles: Heat a separate, smaller non-stick skillet over high heat until very hot. (I use two skillets at the same time, but you can cook the noodles in two batches if you wish.)  Add 1 1/2 tsp. safflower oil and swirl to coat pan.  Add 1 cup of the noodles.  Flip the noodles to coat with the oil.  Let the noodles sit in the pan to brown.  Shake the pan every few seconds so they don’t stick.  Using tongs, turn some of the noodles over to check for crispness.  When noodles look nice and brown, flip them over and brown the other side.  Remove noodles from pan and divide between 2 bowls.

Repeat with second cup of noodles.

Spoon vegetables over noodles.  Sprinkle with lime juice, cilantro, and chopped peanuts.  Serve as is, or garnish further with Asian hot chili sauce or red pepper flakes.

Serves 4.

Explore posts in the same categories: Food and Recipes, Run notes that run into life

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

