A Little Death, a Little Pain

I ran 8 miles this morning and felt really good.  I felt like I was risking my life again, though.   I chose to return loop on Eden Road.  I found myself tip-toeing along every ten paces or so across thick patches of ice, then trying to get my stride back, all to avoid looking at a dead raccoon I had passed on the road in the last third of my beginning loop.  I couldn’t bear the thought of going by that still little body a second time.  On the first pass, I couldn’t take my eyes from it.  No gore, no guts; it just looked like it had fallen asleep by the side of the road.  A shiver ran through me as I hurried by,  and for about a quarter of a mile, I kept glancing back over my shoulder to see if  it had moved.  Thus the other return route option.  Either way was pretty scary.   As I slipped wildly on a black ice spot, I wondered How crazy would I look running in a helmet??? I’m considering it.

My right knee, or more specifically, the top of my tibia directly below my right knee cap has been bothering me for the past couple of days.  To stay pain free,  it’s all about keeping the knee out straight.  After I sit with my leg bent, when I straighten it, it screams out loud- oh, no wait, that’s me.  It think it’s my IT band, and I’m going to do some area-specific stretches this afternoon.  Tomorrow’s plan is a 6.5, and Sunday’s another 8.  It’s only when I stop running that I hurt…so I should do fine.  I’ll be the runner in the bright blue helmet.

Explore posts in the same categories: Run notes that run into life

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

