Just a Log and a Salad

Yesterday I ran 7.7 miles.  I did it in 67 minutes, which translates to 6.9 miles per hour.  I was so cold, even after 6 miles, that I stopped at home to grab a face scarf and a warmer hat before I  continued my planned route. Even so, it was an easy run.   Having done alternative fitness activities like strength training and core work for the previous two days, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.  My body seems to like an occasional break.

Today I ran 5.8 miles in 50 minutes.  That’s 7 miles per hour, not much different than the day before.  I felt lighter and faster today, having shed a hat, a base layer, and a vest in anticipation of the balmy 32 degrees on the thermometer.   But the air was thick with dampness.  It still felt cold.  Today was not as easy as yesterday.

I trained two clients after running, and returned home famished.  All I could think about was…broccoli.  Weird, I know.  I do love it, especially sauteed over high heat so it gets really crispy brown in spots yet doesn’t get squishy.  I will share the salad mix I made and split with my son for lunch.  I could have eaten it twice it was so good!  I’m not even sure he chewed—he couldn’t get it in him quick enough…

Sauteed Broccoli Salad

4 cups mixed greens, 1/2 rip, diced avocado, 1/2  red bell pepper, cut into bite-sized pieces, 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, 1/8 cup dried cranberries, 1/2 can Trader Joe’s marinated bean salad—drained and rinsed well in a colander,  4 quartered Peppa-Dew peppers, 1 cup (or more) broccoli florets and stems  sauteed over high heat in 1 Tbsp. safflower oil until browned but still crunchy, and Annie’s Goddess dressing.

Mix the salad with a little of the dressing, and top with the hot broccoli.  This salad is a nutritional powerhouse loaded with antioxidants and is quite satisfying.  This makes enough, truly, for 2 generous portions.  I could have eaten it twice because I am a glutton!

Explore posts in the same categories: Food and Recipes, Run notes that run into life

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

