Sprouting Wings, Then Wheat Berries

I set the alarm for early this morning.  It’s Friday, and hubby is working from home, so he can take the teenager to school and I can run before the client I am training arrives at 7:45.  I get up right away, not using the the snooze button even once.  I have to drink that first cup of coffee before I run, otherwise I might as well stay in bed.

I quietly slip out of the bedroom and head for the kitchen, where my favorite brew, Starbucks House Blend, is hot and ready in the coffee maker.  Before I go back upstairs, I make a cup for the hubby.  I dress, throw together a lunch for the teenager, and head out.

It’s warm, and I am glad I wore capri running pants instead of the winter ones.  There is a bit of mist in the air, but the sky does not look at all menacing and so I begin my regular 5.3 mile loop.  I am about a quarter of the way through my run when that friendly mist starts to become a light drizzle, and a couple of streets before  Eden Road, it actually starts raining.  As I have mentioned before, I don’t run in the rain.  I hate the feeling of water dropping on my head and my face.  I hate how slippery my skin feels when rain and sweat mix.  I hate the fear of slipping on wet leaves and falling hard on my back or butt.  I start a little internal conversation.  Okay.  If the rain stops before I can see the lighthouses I’ll keep going.  Don’t be such a baby.  It’s not that bad.  Just keep going.  Maybe when the hubby goes out, he will notice the rain and come find me- he will rescue me.  Drive me home.  He’s not going to come find me.  He’s thinking I knew it was going to rain and decided to go anyway.  He’s thinking I have my cell phone and I’ll call him if I want a rescue.

There is a 90 degree bend partway down Eden Road where the view of Thatcher Island and the Twin Lights begins.  It’s one of the most breathtaking views of my loop and every day I pay close attention to that part of the route.  Every day the island and lighthouses look a little bit different.  Sometimes they are not even visible if there is heavy fog.  Sometimes the sun is just coming up between the two lighthouses and the water sparkles and it looks like heaven’s gate.

sunrise over Thatcher Island

Today when I turn the corner the wind picks up like mad but the rain has softened and I can see the island and the lights settled comfortably in the gray, smooth water, and the sky above is a lighter shade of gray, almost silver.  I have a feeling, one from my dreams when I was younger, that I can fly.  As I run, I open my arms wide and lift my face,  letting the wind push against me.  I can almost feel myself lifting off of the rough, uneven pavement, and that gentle rain feels good on my hot skin.

I wonder, when I return home— drenched, winded, joyous with the exhilaration of today’s run—  if I should have waited.  A bright yellow sun has broken through the grayness, and it feels like June.  My client comes, we walk and then weight train, finishing off the session with some core work and stretches.  I walk her to the door, and see that rain is pouring down in wide, torrential sheets, landing and cascading down the road in a river-rush.  I wonder if my friend Michelle is out there in it, or if she ran early like I did today.  I think I’ll send her an email and ask.  And tell her I am not dry-clean-only after all.

Here is a recipe for sprouted wheat berry cookies I emailed Michelle today, after my ‘real’ shower.

From the Celebration of Wellness cookbook:  Sprouted Almond Croquettes

1 cup sprouted wheat berries
1/2 cup applesauce
1/3 cup raw cashews
3/4 cup currants
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/4 cup toasted, minced almonds

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.
1.To sprout wheat:  put wheat berries in a bowl or jar and cover the wheat berries with water, let soak for 24 hours.  Drain out the water, then rinse with fresh water and drain again.  Rinse and drain morning and night for 2 more days or until white sprout tails appear.

2. Pulse chop the sprouted wheat in a food processor, stop and scrape down the sides.  Pulse chop in applesauce and cashews, then add the currants and almond extract, blending for another 30 seconds.

3.  Lower oven temperature to 200 degrees.  Stir in almonds into mixture and drop the cookie dough by tablespoonfuls onto a lightly oiled cookie sheet and bake for 1 1/2  hours at 200 degrees.

Yield: 20 cookies

Notes from personal trials:
Measure out about 1/3 cup wheat berries to soak.  That yields a little over a cup for the recipe. Make sure to lower the oven temp before you put them in, otherwise the bottoms turn a little bit black.
The cookies don’t spread at all, so you can fit all 20 on one large cookie sheet.
You can substitute golden raisins, dark raisins, apricots, dried cherries, or any combination of these for the currants with great success.
Tasting the batter can be a big mistake.  It’s so delicious, you may not have enough left to make the cookies.  I think the batter makes an excellent breakfast.
These cookies freeze well, so I have doubled the recipe twice so far.

A little about sprouted wheat berries:  Sprouting converts its starch into simple sugars, the vitamin E content triples, the vitamin B content increases from 20 to 1200 percent, and the vitamin C content increases by a factor of 6.  Baking the cookies at a low temperature allows the nutrients to remain intact.  Wow!  Bring it on!

Explore posts in the same categories: Food and Recipes, Run notes that run into life

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

